Developing a theology of failure

21 05 2008

Last Thursday, I attended a “Faithfulness In Service” training night for paid staff of the northern region of the Anglican Diocese of Sydney. The presenter, Tim Dyer of John Mark Ministries, made a statement that caught my attention and that of my colleague, Michael Pailthorpe, who was sitting beside me.

Tim suggested that most Christians do not have a theology of failure. We were intrigued. I definately have thought about failure, and even a theology of humanity, but neither is as comprehensive as my theologies of blessing, hope, success, etc.

So for my own interest and curiosity, I have a task. That is, to start to think about and develop a comprehensive theology of failure.

I’m exited as I venture out. And nervous too. I’m not sure what I’ll find.

Have you ever thought in a comprehensive manner about failure? What have you come up with? Why not share a thought about failure as a comment?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

